RaceMill Collegiate: Brittany Warly of Boulder Tri

A lifetime of focused activity channeled into an amazing Triathlete.

Hometown:  Denver, CO

School:  CU Boulder

Sport:  Triathlon

Twitter.com/BrittanyWarly3


RM:  How did you find your sport of choice?

BW:  My story is definitely unique. I didn't grow up with a background in any of the three disciplines, however, I grew up with a very active lifestyle. I have always loved sports, all sports, and I have always been the tomboy among my friends and in the family. My father was a marathon runner and still runs half marathons on the weekends at 54 years old. My mother was an elite springboard diver, high jumper, and short distance track athlete. My parents provided me with the opportunities to experience every sport, so I could find where my true passion was, and I feel very fortunate to have been raised in such an environment. My main sports growing up were tennis, soccer, and basketball. I stuck with tennis, and eventually earned a division 1 scholarship at Santa Clara University, where I played my first year. I had dabbled around with triathlon in high school, but nothing serious. It sort of just happened very quickly when one of my good friends, Jevgenij Cariov had convinced me to do a Boulder Stroke and Stride with him. As my passion for tennis was waning, my fire for triathlon grew. I seemed to enjoy myself the most when I was swimming, biking, and running, so I made a major lifestyle change and quit the sport of tennis which I had played for over 15 years. I began training with Ken Axford of PEAK Multisport, and transferred to CU Boulder.


RM:  What drives your competitiveness?

BW:  Growing up as a triplet has definitely driven me competitively. Whether it was regarding academics or athletics, the three of us were always pushing each other to be our best.


RM:  Athlete that inspires you? Why?

BW:  My favorite triathlete to watch is Gwen Jorgensen; we have a similar build, and I really like her humble attitude; though, I inspire myself to be my own athlete, and try my best not to compare to others.


RM:  How many years have you been competing?

BW:  I have been competing for 2.5 years. This is my third season.


RM:  Perfect weekend workout trip... where to? what do you bring? Itemize it! Tell us why it's in your car and why we need it.

BW:  My favorite ride is in Fountain in Colorado Springs. I enjoy the country landscape, and the best time to do this ride is in August when both sides of the road are lined with sunflowers. What to bring...lots of water, because I have ran out during this ride, and there is nowhere to fill your bottles!


RM:  Group Training or do you prefer solitude? why?

BW:  I prefer group training when it comes to swimming, biking, and track workouts because I feel that we all really push each other and improve together as a team; plus group training is a lot of fun, which is why I do it in the first place. The only time I really enjoy solitude is for my long runs. I feel that training in solitude for this allows me to run my own pace, and I like the quiet environment.


RM:  Best result so far?

BW:  My best result is a tie between the Clermont Draft Legal Challenge this year and Collegiate Nationals. In Clermont I took the overall win on day two in the U25 EDR, and this was my first time grabbing the finishing tape which was exciting. At USAT Collegiate Nationals, I finished second in the draft legal race. Having my team and friends to celebrate it with made the experience so special!




RM:  What are you working on right now?

BW:  I continue working the most on my swim, because it is my weakness. Another key aspect to my training that I am working on is strength training as well because I have needed to bulk up in order to compete at the elite level and minimize injury.


RM:  What are you training for now?

BW:  I will be training for my first elite race, Dallas CAMTRI American Cup in June.


RM:  Training secrets? Care to share?

BW:  Have fun, smile, and laugh a lot. That is all. Don't take yourself too seriously, and enjoy the relationships you have in the sport.


Training Tracks:

BW:  I enjoy many different types of music for sure! Country Music is always enjoyable, and lately KYGO has been my choice of music during training or in my free time. If I want pump-up music, I enjoy European Techno and Iggy Azalea.
1.9K 224